Kinematic solution with RNX2RTKP


In the last post we used the RTKPOST GUI to generate a kinematic position solution using “ebay.obs” for the rover data and “zdv13480.15o” for the base station data. To do the equivalent run from RNX2RTKP we use the following command line, run from the folder containing the data files.

rnx2rtkp -k test1.conf -o out.pos ebay.obs zdv13480.15o ebay.nav

The -k option is to specify the configuration file, the -o option is the output file. In this case we use the configuration file we saved from RTKPOST in the previous post.

To plot the calculated solution use the following command line:

rtkplot out.pos

This calls up the same plot GUI we previously accessed by clicking on the “Plot” button in the RTKPOST GUI.

The plots should be identical between this solution and the previous solution generated with RTKPOST.

To keep track of changes between various runs with the same data, I use a matlab wrapper to create a sub-folder, copy the config file, trace file, stats file, and result file to that sub-folder, input a short description of the run, and also save that to the sub-folder.

4 thoughts on “Kinematic solution with RNX2RTKP”

  1. Hi.
    Very impressed by the work done. Nice and very well documented blog.
    About antennas and the JB note, you may be know already that that we could have an image of your antenna SNR in the $GLGSV line. in the 7th parameter. Could be a good point to look at, when comparing antenna in the different test.
    On my test, an inbuilt antenna for a small M8N 35*35 give around S1 =35/38 , with a 50*50mm I have roughly 42 , and with the external antenna supplied with the C94-M8P , I acheive around 50 for S1 . I will also soon test the TW3740


  2. Hi rtklibexplorer,

    For start, let me apologize for my basic english and thank you for your blog, it’s really good.
    I have a problem using rnx2rtkp with a .bat file and it would be great if you can help me. Actually, my problem appears when I try the kinematic and the differential mode in the option menu. When I run my .bat file, everything works, the options are correct but when I inspect the .pos files, I see that the time start, the time end and the time interval are not similar that in my .obs file. Furthermore, if I use rtkpost instead with the same .obs file and .nav file, this time I have everything that is correct. Unfortunatly, I have a lot of files to convert in .pos so I can’t do it with rtkpost for everyone of them. Last detail, if this time I use rnx2rtkp but with the single mode, this time also I have everything good. I hope you will be able to help me.


    1. Hi Dan. If rtkpost is working for you, then you should be able to save the config file from the options menu (in rtkpost) and use that with rnx2rtkp. If that doesn’t work then all I can do is suggest the same I did for Alessandro. Start simple and work up. It’s probably something simple that isn’t right (otherwise it wouldn’t work in rtkpost). Enabling the trace output will often help find these kind of problems.


Leave a Reply

